Methodspace - home of the Research Methods community

Information

Book reviews

The place to write, read and discuss book reviews!

Members: 133
Latest Activity: 17 hours ago

The place to write, read and discuss book reviews!

 

Each month we will be offering two copies of a SAGE book for review. So keep an eye out for those posts, added to the Comments Wall, and let us know if you would like to review the book.


Book reviews should be a minimum 500 words, and should be completed within 2 months of receipt of the book. Books will be allocated to reviewers on a first come first served basis (
If a reviewer has reviews outstanding they will be asked to submit that review before receiving any further review copies).

 
If you would like to post a book review, please post it as a new discussion in the forum.

 

Book review links:
Salmons, J. (2010). Online Interviews in Real Time. SAGE Publications
Bertely Busquets, María (2000). Conociendo nuestras escuelas. Un acercamiento etnográfico a la cultura escolar, México: Paidós.

Discussion Forum

Book Review: Collins, D. (Ed.). (2015). Cognitive Interviewing Practice. London: Sage. Reviewer: Stanislava Stoyanova

This book consists of twelve chapters organized in three parts written by the staff of NatCen Social Research in UK. The book summarizes their experience from quantitative and qualitative research…Continue

Started by Stanislava Yordanova Stoyanova Jan 18.

The Limits of Social Science by Martin Hammersley

The Limits of Social SciencebyMartin Hammersley Hammersley, Martin. The Limits of Social Science. (2014) London. Sage. Pp 178. Reviewer: Clive Sims.        As always with the work of Professor…Continue

Started by Clive Sims Dec 28, 2014.

Managing and Sharing Research Data

Managing and Sharing Research DatabyLouise Corti, Veerlie Van den Eynden, Libby Bishop & Mathew Woollard. Corti L, Van den Eynden V, Bishop L & Woollard M. Managing and Sharing Research Data.…Continue

Started by Clive Sims Dec 14, 2014.

Using Software in Qualitative Research: a step-by-step guide, by Christina Silver and Ann Lewins. 2nd edition. Sage 2014.

There are two main reasons for reading a book on research: either you wish to examine how it confirms your already substantial knowledge in the chosen field, or you know relatively little about its…Continue

Tags: CAQDAS, analysis, qualitative, data

Started by Dr Mike Lambert Nov 16, 2014.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Book reviews to add comments!

Comment by Lucia Sweet yesterday

Hi Wilma and Nadia,

The books are in the post for you.

 

Thanks,

 

Lucia

Comment by Nadia Ahouari_Idri on January 22, 2015 at 17:01

Hi Lucia,

If there is one more book available, I can take this one

Regards: Nadia

Comment by Lucia Sweet on January 22, 2015 at 11:58

Hi Wilma,

Yes of course, you can review Gary Robins's title. Any other takers?

 

Thanks,

 

Lucia

Comment by Clive Sims on January 21, 2015 at 19:36

Thanks Lucia. I'll look out for it.

Clive

Comment by Wilma Garvin on January 21, 2015 at 12:25
Could I definitely review this book on social network analysis because I'm doing research into social networks at the moment?
Many thanks
Wilma
Comment by Lucia Sweet on January 21, 2015 at 12:21

JANUARY’S BOOK FOR REVIEW

To beat the January blues, here’s our offer for this month:

Doing Social Network Research by Garry Robins :

 With straight-forward guidance on research design and data collection, as well as social network analysis, this book takes you start to finish through the whole process of doing network research.

If you would like to review this book, just let me know via this wall (and I will get in touch to ask for your details). It’s first come first served, so the two copies will go to the first two members of the group to make a request.

Best,

Lucia

Comment by Lucia Sweet on January 21, 2015 at 12:12

Hi Clive,

The book is in the post on its way to you!

 

Thanks,

Lucia

Comment by Clive Sims on December 28, 2014 at 14:12

Hi Lucia, I'm now up-to-date with my reviews & am still interested in reviewing December's book, Research Ethics and Integrity for Social Scientists by Mark Israel. Thanks. Clive

Comment by Clive Sims on December 11, 2014 at 11:08

Hi Lucia, I'm vey interested in reviewing this book. Reviews of current books are just about complete & will be on their way over the next couple of days. Not today though as it's my birthday :)

Cheers

Clive

Comment by Lucia Sweet on December 11, 2014 at 10:53

DECEMBER’S BOOK FOR REVIEW

Christmas starts with a good Research book! Our offer for this jolly month is:

Research Ethics and Integrity for Social Scientists by Mark Israel : This book surveys the recent developments and debates around researching ethically and with integrity and complying with ethical requirements. The new edition pushes beyond the work of the first edition through updated and extended coverage of issues relating to international, indigenous, interdisciplinary and internet research.

If you would like to review this book, just let me know via this wall (and I will get in touch to ask for your details). It’s first come first served, so the two copies will go to the first two members of the group to make a request.

Happy holidays,

Lucia

 

Members (133)

 
 
 

Follow us:

© 2015   Created by SAGE Publications.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service