A question about how to compare certain groups in a 2-way RM ANOVA

Home Forums Methodspace discussion A question about how to compare certain groups in a 2-way RM ANOVA

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Graham P

Hi,

I’m an undergrad, currently in my 3rd year doing my dissertation.

I have 2 groups (time and method), and all participants are in both groups, so it’s a 2-way repeated measures ANOVA.

The time variable has 4 levels (5, 10, 15 and 20 mins), and the method variable has 2 levels (A and B).

I am only wanting to compare A and B at each time point, but after doing the RM ANOVA on SPSS, I don’t know which follow up tests to use. I know that if I do post-hocs, then it compares everything, and therefore decreases the chance of getting significant results. I’ve also had a look at standard contrasts, but I can’t see one which would suit my situation.

To make things easier, I want to compare the following:-

(1,1) vs (2,1)

(1,2) vs (2,2)

(1,3) vs (2,3)

(1,4) vs (2,4)

with the first number representing the method, and the second number the time.

Thank you for any replies. 

Graham

Rafael Garcia
    Participant

Are you saying that each participant has 8 observations (2methods*4timepoints)?

Graham P

yes

Rafael Garcia
    Participant

There’s not really a way around the decrease in power. You will have to do multiple comparisons.

If it were me, I would take the difference between methods for each participant (A-B or B-A) and then regress that on time. That would quantify the size of the linear time effect. Alternatively, you could simply do 4 dependent t-tests for each time point with a Bonferroni correction (alpha = 0.05/4 = 0.0125 or alpha = 0.10/4 = 0.025 for trends). 

I’m sure there are better solutions, but that’s a quick and dirty way of doing it (and probably what I would do for my “main test”.