A question about preparing questionnaire data for statistical analysis?

Home Forums Methodspace discussion A question about preparing questionnaire data for statistical analysis?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Marko Sobol

The question may seem trivial, but although I have some experience in doing statistical analysis I’m having a dilemma nevertheless. And here it is, let’s say I want to statistically test differences between two or more groups, and dependent variable was measured with a questionnaire, let’s say on interval scale. The construct I want to test is measured with more than one question or statement (i.e. extraversion tested with several different questions or statements: “I consider myself a talkative person.”, “I like to attend parties.” and so on), and each of this items is answered on a five point Likert scale. The dilemma is when I combine answers on each of these questions/statements for each participant, to obtain total score (i.e. extraversion), should I use absolute values and simply sum all answers from all the items that measure extraversion for each participant i.e., 3+5+4+3+5, etc,.or calculate mean or some other value and then proceed with the analysis using this value as data?

What would the answer be if some of items were answered on a five point Likert scale and some on other type of scale and they both need to be totalled somehow to define one underlying construct?

Dave Collingridge
    Participant

Marko,