Can social network analysis (SNA) be a recognised method in Methodspace

Home Forums Methodspace discussion Can social network analysis (SNA) be a recognised method in Methodspace

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Malcolm Alexander
    Participant

Hi all.
    I am a social researcher who uses social network analysis mapping and software as a tool fof social research and evaluation projects. I run a training course on social network research and network analysis and teach an undergraduate course on social networks.

As this description indicates I treat the questions of research methods and methodology for investigating human/social networks and networking seperately from the techniques of network analysis. The champions of SNA (signalled by the use of the acronym) tend to begin from such network (data) analysis. SNA models are interesting and important. They offer many ‘solutions in search of a problem’, but also lots of valuable analytic methods, suggestions and insights. The recent influx of physicists and biologists working with models of ‘small world’ and ‘scale-free’ networks are plowing the same row (even deeper).

Social researchers do not start from the specification of models and the jump to (data) analysis that network analysis makes. We are more interested in collecting the variety of data that social research methods provide. Some of this data is amenable to analysis using SNA techniques and software – some is not. Conversely, SNA techniques suggest methods of data collection (for network analysis) that are not commonly used in social research.

In signing in to methodspace the only options for signalling my interests were: quant, qual, mixed methods and evaluation. There is no place for me to signal my primary interest.