Epoche, bracketing, and mind mapping

Home Forums Methodspace discussion Epoche, bracketing, and mind mapping

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Good Afternoom and Greetings from America’s Paradise, Virgin Islands; I am new to this impressive body of scholars, academicians, and practitioners, so I attempted to send this earlier, somewhere?? I need to know how to apply any of the three techniques to achieve “interpretive legitimacy” (Creswell, 1998) as the researcher. I am soliciting participants in preparation for scheduling face to face interviews. Bednall (2006) states most succintly what I amtrying to find, and tht is a mechanism that will enable me to be aware of my own potential for bias, and how to suspend that bias at the startt of data collection and through analysis/interpretations. Epoche is defined by him, and a procedure he calls a Feelings Audit.I’m introduced to mind mapping (Tattersall, Watts, and Vernon, 2007) said to be able to aid the researche in the analysis of qualitative data by bracketing  the researcher’s own preconceptions stated as ‘fundamental in phenomenological research” (para. 1). These mind clearing activities are to be done prior to data collection!?  How? Loretta Carter-Miller, MA, RN  

Hello Loretta,

You might want to look at the work of Amedeo Giorgi for steps on how to achieve the phenomenological attitude. He’s written several books, articles and has a web site that I found helpful. The latest book, “The Descriptive Phenomenological Method in Psychology” spells out the steps the most clearly.

Best wishes on your work,

Karita Nussbaum

Karita,

Your response is timely and on point.

Thank you!!! I have looked at Lincoln and Guba, finding them helpful also. Will pursue your suggestion ASAP.

Loretta Carter-Miller

Roger Gomm

Hello Loretta