Getting ‘behind’ moral tales in interviews

Home Forums Methodspace discussion Getting ‘behind’ moral tales in interviews

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hi,

I am a PhD student in Educational Research and about to go into my second year.  My research is focused on the relationship between academic work and parenthood from the perspective of academic staff.  I have recently conducted a pilot study which brought my attention to the challenges involved with interviewing academics and the issues around ‘moral tales’.  While I know I cannot overcome this completely, I am wondering if anyone has any advice on ways/methods that could possibly get behind moral tales in interviews?

Thank you for any advice, Kayleigh   

Can you start by saying more what you mean by “moral tales?”

Roger Gomm