help with coding process

Home Forums Methodspace discussion help with coding process

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hello Everybody and Happy Easter!

I am struggling with coding process. I have to say that I am quite new in qualitative methods in general but I have to get acquainted as I am using GTM in my MA thesis. More specifically, I use this methods to investigate the feeling of soviet-nostalgia. So far, the categories I found useful to code this phenomenon are:

object of longing (concrete, ideal) Finding: welfare system, utopian society, traditional life style),

type of remembering (by juxtaposition or justification)

vision of the present (positive, negative)

manifestations of nostalgia  (soft, hard) Finding: idealization of nature, societal relations, communities life),

world view informing the feeling of nostalgia (pre-modern, modern, post-modern) Finding: soviet, indigenous

Does it make any sense?

Pat Bazeley
    Participant

Hi Giulia,

Yep – that makes good sense, and nicely categorised. 

If you are using GT, you will also want to code the more descriptive elements as well – what context (conditions) these phenomena arose in, what their consequences were for those experiencing them (which is probably what your manifestations group is about?). (If you use software to code, make sure the codes for each of these aspects ‘connect’, i.e. are all present on the same passage, so you can use the computer to locate all the patterns of connection later)

Also, be sure tokeep notes (memos) about the linkages between these things that you are noticing as you move along.

Pat

Hello Pat

Thanks a lot for your tips. At the moment I am not making linkages but it sounds useful!  

Best

Giulia

Pat Bazeley
    Participant