How many interview need to conduct in a qualitative research?

Home Forums Default Forum How many interview need to conduct in a qualitative research?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Kien Nguyen

Hi everybody,

My name is Kien. I am a researcher. Can you answer some questions for me? Thank you firstly.

Here they are:

– How many interview need to conduct in a qualitative research?

– What type of interview (semi-structured or unstructured) will you use?

– How long do you usually conduct a interview?

Thanks again.

Hello Nguyen,
    Your all questions’ answer is that it will depend on the question that you are intended to answer. Furthermore it will depend on the theoretical framework and nature of inquiry.
    Thanks

Rafiq

Jenny Hall

Hello Kien
    I think Dave has answered all your questions. One of my friends did her PhD studying just one person!. Also don’t just assume you have to interview- there are other qualitative methods for collecting information.
    best wishes
    jenny

Kien Nguyen

Thanks Dave for your detailed and useful answers.

Rgs,

Kien

Kien Nguyen

Thank Jenny and Muhammad.

Best,

Kien

Sam Stott

hi kien,

you’ve specified which paradigm (qualitative) but not which methodology you are using. this will determine if and what kind of interviews are suitable methods for collecting/generating data.

in qualitative research, you’re likely to need enough data (from whichever methods chosen) to reach theoretical saturation.

cheers,

sam

How many interview need to conduct in a qualitative research?
    To my understanding you need to conduct interviews until you reach the point of saturation and redundancy starts in the interviews. However, you have to consider the approach you are using and the time-frame you’ve got to conduct the research.

What type of interview (semi-structured or unstructured) will you use?