Number of respondents justifiable for case based research?

Home Forums Default Forum Number of respondents justifiable for case based research?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Marty Reilly

Hi all,

I am a PhD student using a multiple case study methodology across 5 organisations within one industry sector. Finding enough respondents in each organisation was problematic to say the least.

Ideally I was looking at obtaining 6-8 respondents from each org but in some instances have only managed to get 4 or 5.  Has anyone seen research within management which justified this small number of respondents? Whilst I am confident that I’ve got a valid story to tell in each org I am somewhat worried that the small number of respondents may not stand up to scrutiny.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Kate Golden

Hi Marty, I hope this is helpful… From what I believe I read in both Stake and Yin’s work on case study is that the case study’s integrity is viewed in terms of the breadth and depth of methods utilized to explore the case(s) in depth. This would include but is not limited to the number of respondents and type of data collected (e.g. focus group, interview, survey), nature of observations, use of additional documentation (e.g. document review, meeting minutes, employee evaluations) and exploration of other extant data sources (e.g. description of program history, annual budget, policies and procedures). I am of the belief that with some or all of these elements included in your work, you have a very valid approach that will absolutely be viewed favorably amongst those who have an understanding of (or who can be convinced) the determinants of rigorous qualitative work. I admit that I am unsure of how this may play out in a management context but if my understanding is correct, rigor is best judged by its ability to tell a complex story from multiple angles. Maybe its more of a marketing challenge…

Roger Gomm