Qualitative data analysis

Home Forums Methodspace discussion Qualitative data analysis

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

I am a new member to methodspace. I am a PhD part time student. I have collected data and I do not know where to start and how to analyse it. I am reading books but they do not provide enough guidance in terms of the nitty gritties of the data analysis process. Where and what do I start with? One book mentioned the use of typology, analysing chronologically and the other third method. I do not know what to choose. My data composes of algebraic tasks that teachers responded to, interviews and video tapes.

Diane Roberts
    Participant

Hi

You’ve obviously looked at the research methods literature and I’m sure will have used your ideas about the topic to inform the interviews etc so to make a decision as to how you proceed can I suggest you think about:
    1. Your research question(s). What, exactly, do you want to know? What sort of things might inform you in answering the question(s).
    2. Can all your data be analysed in the same way? Are the videos recordings of the interviews? If not, what was their purpose and does it represent a different perspective on the same points or is it something totally different? How do the responses to algebraic questions fit with the qualitative data? If this is quantitative, can the results be mapped on to the qualitative data?
    3. Are you adopting a particular conceptual approach within the study? If so, this too will indicate a way forward in establishing a basic analytical framework.
    4. Ideas will develop as you go and the process of analysis needs to be sufficiently flexible to allow you to record these and to re-analyse as relevant.
    5. Never forget that one extract, kept in context, may actually be ‘codable’ under more than one heading.

Good luck!

Roger Gomm