Qualitative Research Methodology – Mobile Telephony in Kenya

Home Forums Methodspace discussion Qualitative Research Methodology – Mobile Telephony in Kenya

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author

Dear all, 

I am a doctoral student from Germany and I am writing on a doctoral thesis entitled (working title): “Mobile Communication as a strategy to ‘coping’ with everyday life in urban Kenya. A study of media appropriation with particular regard to usage motives, media competencies and aspects of ‘De-Westernization’.”

The (very brief) research aims are to develop concepts of coping strategies, usage motives and media competencies (and their relation to one another) as well as understanding the appropriation process of the mobile technology. 

I am intending to use focus groups first in order to refine and enrich my research questions, followed by a ‘mobile self documentation’ in order to get contextualization as well as a richer data set. On that basis, I am going to conduct semi-structured in depth-interviews, using a sample from the focus groups on the basis of theoretical considerations (contrasting cases, underrepresented cases, and so forth). The material from the ‘mobile self documentation’ will, depending on the data, be analyzed by using visual methods or content analysis. The latter will also be applied to the focus group and interview material. I will be using the Strauss coding paradigm (open, axial, and selective coding) in order to come up with the desired concepts outlined above. 

Regarding that project, I would have several questions and I would very much appreciate reading your opinions on these: