social networks

Home Forums Default Forum social networks

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hi every one. I am a Global Journalism masters student in Sweden. I want to write my thesis on how members of the Uganda netwok use Facebook. I want to conduct a web-based survey for my study. And Yes and addition of ethnography and some interviews would have worked well for my study but too finanacial and time limitations, i can not use these two methods. So the question is what kind of sample is appropiate for such a study. Secondly, may you please help explain how can i go about this study.
    third, where can i get previous research on social network site in Africa?
    Thank you

Hello Marian

For your first question, I have a book in the digital format on conduction interviews via mail and email. This is my email address: vaismoradi_2007@hotmail.com. Contact with me to send the book to you. With the book you can find the answer to your inquiries related to the interview process conducted via the internet.

In addition, you should remain faithful to the qualitative research rules on data gathering and sampling. The rules say that the matter of “data saturation” should determine your study sample size. You can not determine a fixed number of participants before starting your study. Clearly, the participants words and statements and the amount of data gathered via interview and mail survey direct you to the stop point of your research. The rules should be followed if you would like to gather data which are trustworthy. Read below book to find more on this issues:

Streubert Speziale HJ, Carpenter DR. Qualitative research in Nursing: Advancing the Humanistic Imperative. 4th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. 2007.

For your second question, the book that I will send you via email (after your contact) will show you the way.