Teaching research methods for undergraduate students

Home Forums Methodspace discussion Teaching research methods for undergraduate students

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Enzo Nussio
    Participant

Hi everybody,
    I am a young researcher and teacher assigned with an introductory research methods class for fourth semester students at the political science department of the Universidad Nacional in Bogotá. The course is called “qualitative and quantitative research methods”. As I am doing this course for the first time and I am quite free in its design, I would like to share ideas with fellow teachers. I am especially interested in getting to know the design of similar courses at other universities. Also, I would be happy about any suggestions on useful writings or textbooks in Spanish language.
    Looking forward to your comments

Hello
    I’m going to teach research methods to the undergraduate students in business and it is the first time for me, I want to know if you can help me with the course syllabus or a good book or anything which can help me.
    Thanks

Enzo Nussio
    Participant

Hi Neda,
    Thank you for your comment. I just started with my course. It is in the political science department and it is called “Quantitative and qualitative research methods”. What I basically do is introducing research techniques – descriptive and a little inferential statistics for the quantitative part, and interviewing, participant observation and document research for the qualitative part – after a short introduction on epistemological questions.

I use some of the following books and articles (some of them are in Spanish as I am teaching in Bogota):
    Agresti, Alan, and Christine Franklin. 2008. Statistics: The Art and Science of Learning from Data. 2nd ed. Upper Saddle River: Prentice Hall.
    Atkinson, Paul, Amanda Coffey, and Sara Delamont. 2003. Key Themes in Qualitative Research. Walnut Creek: Rowman Altamira.