Using Quantitative Sources for Purposive Sampling

Home Forums Default Forum Using Quantitative Sources for Purposive Sampling

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    David Morgan
    Participant

Nadia,

One thing that particularly interest me about your project is that you seemed to have used a prior quantitative source as a basis for selecting the 11 people you interviewed.

I notice that people often use some kind of “data base” to do locate purposive samples for qualitative interviewing, but I haven’t seen any real discussion of this topic in the literature.

Can you tell us more about what you did?

==>David

Dear David:
    I am a an EFL lecturer in the University of Béjaia/Algeria. I’m actually working on my PhD thesis. Your discussion is of great interest for me given that I have used both the quantitative and qualitative methods. I used participant observation, face-to-face interview and the before/after design as qualitative. I think that using the tight method of interviewing is more likely to be linked to the topic and phenomenon we are searching for. If we focus on interaction patterns, social/cultural phenomena, turn-taking in speech, people’s reaction, etc; I think it is appropriate to have two/more persons in the interview. Yet, if the topic is sensitive, affective, personal, I cannot garantee the data I can get from the participants at hand. A good case in point here is my study. I’m working on “Fear of Negative Evaluation as a Variety of Anxiety in EFL”. I got a limited number of volunteers. I prepared these students months before the interview because they took part of the quantitative research before. Subjects were alone with the researchers and surprising revelations appeared during these interviews. All the eleven participants perefered to be alone with me. I got data that shows origins from early childhood, primary schools, parents, teachers, gender-related, etc.