What statistical analysis to use for my study?!!

Home Forums Methodspace discussion What statistical analysis to use for my study?!!

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hi guys, I’m stuck as to what test to use for my research project. 

I am looking into the effects of socio economic status and  recurring negative life events on feelings of hopelessness. I am doing this by using three questionnaires, one measuring each variable. Socio economic status and negative life events are the independent variables. All participants will be answering all questions and it is hypothesized that lower socio economic status scores and greater levels of negative life events will significantly effect hopelessness scores. 

Now I am only an undergraduate so am very new to spss but am unsure whether to use ANOVA, then I can do paired comparisons of each variable and see interaction effects. Or correlation, then I can see a positive of negative association between the variables. 

At them moment I am considering both haha, but I would like to use the  correct test.

Many thanks!!!

Isabelle

Stephen Gorard
    Participant

Two things first. Your design will not allow you to look at ‘effects’, only at covariation. You might speculate a causal model if you find a link, but it must be very tentative. And unless you have a complete random sample, don’t bother with any ‘tests’.

So. A correlation (like R) is fine as long as the measures crossplot into something like a straight line (and as long as you ignore the ** etc. and make your own judgements). If not, use the crossplot for ideas how to proceed – transformation, rho…. If the SES is a category really, then you could simply compare the mean scores of ‘hopelessness’ for each SES category. Whether the patterns are sufficient to pursue has to be your reasoned judgement.,

Thank you very much, I will pursue the correlational route, I just needed a stable place to start from 🙂 

Dave Collingridge
    Participant