Discovering Statistics

Pattern Matrix not showing up (Factor Analysis)

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Hello,

I ran a factor analysis, and the pattern matrix is coming up as:

Pattern Matrix a

a Rotation failed to converge in 25 iterations. (Convergence = .000).

What does this mean and how can I fix it? I ran another one for a different set of data and had no issue. 

Disclaimer: I am a statistics novice. Please be gentle. 

in order to better understand your problem, it would be helpful to state which function (and the package you’re using).

I guess that the problem is due to the method that you’re using for extract factors. You’re probably using the maximum likewood.

If you’re using the function fa() from the psych package, you can use either minres or eighted least squares (WLS).

The argument in the function is fm (see psych documentation).

Finally, this problem can occur when your correlation (or covariance) matrix does not suit well for factor analysis. Probably that your KMO (keyser olkin meyer) is weak. Check this point before running factor analysis.

Best.

I’m not native speaker and I make probably mistakes in English, so please be also gentle  😉

Hello,

Thank you for the reply. Your English is excellent, so no worries 🙂

If I am correct as to what you are asking, I am using SPSS 22. I followed Andy Field’s instructions from his video on youtube as to running it. I am using the eigenvalue extraction choice, and the value is set to one. The method is principal axis factoring. If I left something out, please let me know.  

I do not use SPSS, but try anything else principal axis.

Note that in “discovering statistics using R”, Andy Field consider factor analysis and principal component as the same analysis. I do not know what he is saying in his video, but it is not exactly the same (even if I share his view, I know that some reviewer could disagree with his view and making factor analysis should be a better alternative.