Group of Beginner/Future Researchers

On Being A Novice in A Doctoral Research Community of Inquiry

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Dr Ann Lawless 2 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Bonnie Taylor
    Participant

As a doctoral student preparing my dissertation research proposal, I feel that if anyone counts as a novice, I certainly do! As an educational researcher interested in the cultivation of academic communities of inquiry, it seems logical to seek out a digital community of similarly situated scholars. What I’m looking for as a nascent researcher and learner is a virtual space to further my educational experience with a social, teaching and cognitive presence (Garrison, Anderson, & Archer, 2000).

So far joining the Group of Beginner/Future Researchers is an exercise in doubt and trepidation: am I doing it right? Where is everybody? How do I figure out what’s going on? What might I be expected to do?

To learn from other people’s experiences in comparison to one’s own, I propose this topic for an ongoing discussion in this group. If nothing else, it might offer a safe place for practice to become comfortable interacting with other “newbies” before moving on to other groups in Methodspace.

Reference
    Rourke, L. & Kanuka, H. (2009). Learning in communities of inquiry: A review of the literature. Journal of Distance Education,23(1), 19-48. Retrieved from
    http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ836030.pdf

CPhillipsPhd
    Participant

Thank you Bonnie for your honesty. For me, the more I know, the more I determine I need to know more, lbs. However, I have found this journey to be a marathon, not a sprint. Respect the process, and you will be all the better for it. Best to you and yours.

Dr Ann Lawless
    Participant

Hi Bonnie,
    I hope your studies are progressing well.