Mixed Methods researchers

McNemar/Bowker references

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Tessa Mearns

Following a lot of searching through books and journals to find an alternative to Chi squared for in-sample testing, I eventually resorted to the internet and found a lot of recommendations for McNemar or Bowker. I ended up using these (well, Bowker, as I always have more than 2 variables), and this seemed to work well.

My problem now is that I don’t have a decent reference to defend my use of this test in my thesis. I can’t find either test in any of my books, and searching for papers hasn’t done much good either. From the information I’ve found, I’m fairly certain I’ve chosen the right test, but I don’t think that the sources I’ve used would look great in my references.

I tried writing to my stats contact at my university (I’m a distance student) but she took 3 months to reply and then didn’t even attempt to answer my questions about my choice of test, so I’m kind of on my own with this. Does anyone know of a book or article that would justify or even just discuss the use of these tests?

My field is education and my research is mixed methods. I’m using the test to measure the significance of differences between responses from the same group regarding different school subjects, and to compare responses from the same respondents during two data collection periods. The data are mostly Likert scale, which I am treating as nominal rather than scale. I am using SPSS and have used Chi squared elsewhere to compare two different groups of respondents.

Stephen Gorard
    Participant

Have not heard of this much, You can try – Computational Statistics & Data Analysis51, 9, pp.4124–4142

But please do not do this. It does not make sense (why on earth would you want the probability that this ‘test’ generates?). Just convert the difference to ‘effect’ sizes for between subject or between episodes comparisons. 

Tessa Mearns