MethodSpace Live Webinar: Research Ethics in Practice

Categories: MethodSpace Live!, Online Research, Other, Research, Research Design, Research Ethics, Research Roles, Research Skills, Time Sensitive Announcements, Timely Posts

Tags:

Registration is now open!

Join us for the next MethodSpace Live webinar with Natalia Reinoso Chavez, from the Universidad de la Sabana in Bogotá, Colombia and Cheryl Poth, from the University of Alberta  Edmonton, Canada.


March 10: 11 am EST, 10 am CST, 9am MST, 8 am PT or your time zone.
Register here to attend the webinar and receive the recording link.


Ethical research involves much more than a pre-study review or forms to explain how the study adheres to the institution’s rules about protection of human participants. This webinar will feature a cross-cultural conversation about two key questions: How do I identify critical ethical issues for my research? and What are the practicalities of responding to ethical issues as they arise?  Dr. Poth raised these questions in her Research Ethics Little Quick Fix book, and Dr. Chavez has lived them in her research, and research supervision, in a complex and fraught setting.

Research ethics will be the focus for MethodSpace in March, and you will find the unfolding series of original posts, interviews, and resources here.


Cheryl Poth is a Professor of Educational Psychology and faculty member of the research-intensive Centre for Applied Research in Assessment and Measurement in Education (CRAME) at the University of Alberta, Canada. She conducts research, teaches, and supervises graduate students in the areas of mixed methods research, program evaluation, qualitative research, classroom assessment and health sciences education.

Research Ethics

She is the author of the Little Quick Fix: Research Methods, and Innovation in Mixed Methods Research: A Practical Guide to Integrative Thinking with Complexity, winner of the 2020 Most Promising New Textbook Award from the Textbook & Academic Authors Association. 


Natalia Reinoso Chávez is a Psychologist with a Master’s degree in Education and Cultural Diversity. She is the Intercultural Education coordinator in the Intercultural Medical Study Center -Centro de Estudios Médicos Interculturales- at Colombia, where she has been supporting participatory community processes for more than 10 years, aiming to promote cultural preservation, nature conservation and well-being. Natalia is an independent qualitative researcher,  intercultural consultant, and lecturer at the Medicine Faculty of the Universidad de la Sabana in Bogotá, Colombia. She recently contributed the chapter, “Challenges of a Systematization of Experiences Study: Learning from a Displaced Victim Assistance Program, during COVID-19 Emergency in Ethnic Territories in Colombia” to Researching in the Age of COVID-19Volume I: Response and Reassessment.


Relevant MethodSpace Posts

Leave a Reply